Experience YourListen.com completely ad free for only $1.99 a month. Upgrade your account today!

Ehnahre Ceiling Of Insects

Embed Code (recommended way)
Embed Code (Iframe alternative)
Please login or signup to use this feature.

ARTIST: Ehnahre
TITLE: Douve
LABEL: Kathexis
RELEASE: 01/22/2016

The Boston-based ensemble Ehnahre has been pioneering an effort to rethink and redefine what metal and extreme music can be since their debut release in 2008, to a reception equal parts acclaim and condemnation for their sins against the tradition. Douve pushes things even further into the muddy perimeter, incorporating elements of contemporary classical music, serialism, free improvisation, aleatory, free meter, noise, and other experimental techniques. An 18-part cycle based on poet Yves Bonnefoy's "Theatre" from his 1953 book Du mouvement et de l'immobilité de Douve (On the Motion and Immobility of Douve), the album is a window into the distressed mind of a man as he observes the death and decay of his metaphorical beloved, the "watcher of the cold secret." Employing a dizzying variety of timbres, instruments, moods, and stylistic homages, Douve ranges from the delicate shimmer of piano overtones to full-bore metal howl, its emotional intensity only overcome by the density of its harmonies. Sometimes beautiful, frequently disgusting, Douve is not only an aural narrative, but also a display of the group's radical evolution. It is sure to shock the uninitiated, challenge the extreme music veteran, and cement Ehnahre's status as the most forward-thinking metal band on the planet. "Nothing remains except a fire in death's kingdom." On this album Ryan McGuire (bass, voice) and Ricardo Donoso (drums, percussion, electronics) return, along with with new members Richard Chowenhill (guitar) and Jared Redmond (piano), and are joined by vocalist Ken Ueno, who appears on several tracks. Artwork contributed by Matt Saunders.

01. I Saw You (4:47)
02. Rather the Ivy (2:37)
03. At Last Absent From My Head (5:41)
04. Great Dogs of Leafage Tremble (2:28)
05. Black Gestures (4:43)
06. Trees of Another Shore (1:49)
07. Wounded One Blurred Among the Leaves (2:28)
08. Tearing Out of the Sight (3:41)
09. Ceiling of Insects (5:57)
10. Black Princes/Fountain of My Death (5:28)
11. The Interior Sea (4:25)
12. The Door Opens (5:24)
13. I See You Disappearing (4:24)
14. The March of Suns (5:37)
15. The Throat Paints Itself (5:53)
16. The Mute Limits (7:00)
17. Attempted Rift in the Thickness of the World (5:06)
[Taken from the forthcoming Douve ]

Licence : All Rights Reserved