Corporate World: A New Approach
Embed Code (recommended way)
Embed Code (Iframe alternative)
Please login or signup to use this feature.
Tags: mplsfunk

Corporate World is an unreleased studio album by The Time, recorded in Summer 1989 and planned for release in November, 1989. Like previous albums by The Time, all tracks featured Prince heavily as a writer and musician, with Morris Day adding vocals as the only member of the band to appear on the album. The album was submitted to Warner Bros., and planned for release on 14 November, 1989, with Nine Lives planned as the first single.
Warner Bros. stopped the release, however, feeling that other members of the band should be brought in to contribute to the album.
Following a meeting with Prince, the band members Jesse Johnson, Monte Moir, Terry Lewis and Jimmy Jam began contributing songs to the album without input by Prince, as well as revising Chocolate and Jerk Out; the resulting album became The Time's fourth album Pandemonium (see that album's entry for details).
Of the tracks included on Corporate World, three tracks were kept for Pandemonium: Donald Trump (Black Version), Data Bank and My Summertime Thang. Four other tracks were kept as The Time's contribution to Prince's twelfth album Graffiti Bridge (the soundtrack album to the movie Graffiti Bridge): Love Machine, Shake!, The Latest Fashion and Release It. Murph Drag was included on NPG Ahdio Show # 3 in 2001, but was not available as a separate track. Rollerskate Is an unreleased 6-minute instrumental continuation of My Summertime Thang.
Only Nine Lives and Corporate World have not been released in any form.

Murph Drag
Nine Lives
Donald Trump (Black Version)
Love Machine
Data Bank
Corporate World
The Latest Fashion
Release It
My Summertime Thang

Morris Day – lead vocals
Prince – background vocals and all instruments, except where noted, co-lead vocals on The Latest Fashion
Candy Dulfer - saxophone on Murph Drag, Love Machine, The Latest Fashion, Release It and My Summertime Thang
Jerome Benton - percussion on Murph Drag (uncertain involvement), background vocals on Love Machine, crowd noise on The Latest Fashion
Unidentified female vocalist(s) - background vocals on Murph Drag
Margie Cox - vocals on Nine Lives
Elisa Fiorillo - vocals on Love Machine
Jana Anderson - background vocals on Shake!
Robin Power - crowd noise on The Latest Fashion
Tom Garneau - crowd noise on The Latest Fashion
Michael Koppelman - crowd noise on The Latest Fashion
David Garibaldi - drums on Release It (sampled loop from Squib Cakes by Tower Of Power)

Licence : All Rights Reserved